The bosses make you do what the bosses want you to do.

leftlinkrightlink

 

        “Last night I was reacting to our failure. Right now, I think I’m reacting to the absurdity of us joining a military spy resistance revolution thing.”
        “Yeah, but if we keep on acting as field agents we’re going to get into situations like that frequently. Seriously, we need to take a serious look at this and decide if we’re going to do it or not. Seriously.”
        Dominica answered him.
        “You’re being pretty serious, there. It seems to me, that, as before, when we were deciding on whether or not to go to Battle Mountain I mean, we need to weigh two things against each other. Is it more important to avoid risking our skins, or to try and actually stop the Dictatorship.”
        Kelvin said, “I rather think it’s out of our hands. The bosses will tell us to do what they say, and unless we feel like deserting, we’re going to have to do that. I for one don’t really want to desert, because then both the Dictatorship and the International whatever force will be after us. That sounds like a lose lose scenario. However, I- Charles, I’m not done talking. I know what you’re going to say, but I’ll address that. However, I do think we can probably put in a request to get assigned to support operations and reconnaissance and the like instead of combat operations, but I’m not sure how much good it’ll do.”
        Claire entered the conversation.
        “I, for one, think we should go ahead and go on the dangerous missions, provided that we and our bosses take reasonable safety precautions. If the Resistance folds, we’re not likely to fare well. We need to do everything in our power to make sure that they succeed, and, if that means putting ourselves in danger, so be it.”
        Kelvin replied, “I guess so. Hopefully we won’t have a lot, or any, missions any time soon. But, at the same time, I won’t go out of my way to avoid them.”
        Dominica nodded, and said, “What about you, Charles?”
        “I’m not going on any missions if I can help it. This organization if big enough that one Charles isn’t going to make that much of a difference. Anyway, it’s a moot point for now, because I can’t be going on any missions at all until my injuries heal. After that, we’ll see.”
        Claire said, “Okay. I can’t really ask for more than that. I think that just about wraps up this discussion. Which is probably good, considering the time.”
        “What time is it?” asked Dominica
        “1:25.”
        “Well, in that case, let’s be gone.”

leftlinkrightlink

 

This entry was posted in Pages.

2 comments on “The bosses make you do what the bosses want you to do.

  1. this guy says:

    Apologies for the missed updates.

    The updating schedule will continue to be erratic for a short time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

