Everyone likes to learn backstory.

leftlinkrightlink

_

        “Well, I’ll tell you. I was born in Chicago, the heiress to a notorious gangster. That was when I first learned how to use guns, and other weapons. I was being prepared to take over the family business. Now, I did not really care to become a notorious gangster. That was not an appealing career option. I left. Ran away from home you could say. It worked out okay. Fast forward several years, and I enlist in the military. I hadn’t been in combat myself, but I knew a fair bit about armed conflicts, although on a relatively small scale. I figured it would be a good idea to pursue that knowledge, and enlist. So they sent me to Afghanistan. That was not pleasant. Not pleasant at all. Next chance I got, I left the military. I decided to get an education instead, and came here. So, does that answer your question?”
        “Oh. Well. Okay. Where did you get the weapons anyway?”
        “Places. Here and there. They’re legal, if that’s what you’re wondering.”
        “Okay.”
        Kelvin’s knowledge of Charles’s past came in smaller pieces. Eventually he managed to put together a few facts.
        Charles was originally from England. His family moved to America when he was young. Quickly after moving, it became clear that he had an extraordinary aptitude for mathematics. He pursued his talent through his early life. In his mid-twenties he had taken up a teaching position at the University of Missouri. He had, at the young age of 34, achieved the rank of full professor. He had taught for three years after that, and Kelvin knew the rest of the story.
        Claire never talked about herself. When asked directly, she said that her past was uninteresting.

leftlinkrightlink

_

This entry was posted in Pages.

Leave a Reply

