At a guess, 5% of readers will have seen this coming.

leftlinkrightlink

_

        Students and faculty alike were running across the campus in every direction. Some were screaming. The dormitory that he had noticed earlier was on fire.
        He saw a group of students being pursued by another student, the pursuer must have been running at 30 or 40 miles per hour.
        “What? Is…”
        Charles realized that there was a student directly above him, clinging to the eaves of the building. “Morton, what is going on, and how are you up there?”
        “I don’t know how, but I woke up this morning, and then I could. As for what is happening, I don’t honestly know. I think that, if you may remember, there have been some reports of people with superhuman abilities. I think that’s what’s going on now.”
        “Yeah right. That’s a great theory, apart from the fact that people don’t have, and never have had, superpowers. How gullible are you?”
        “Be that as it may, it sure is nice.”
        “What are you talking about?”
        “I’m out of reach of those crazies, right. Nice, right.”
        “Uhhh… your mysterious ability to cling to building eaves?”
        “Among other things.”
        “So, how are you even doing that? You got some sort of magical stickyness?”
        “I’m… not sure. You have a peripheral awareness of me as a person, correct?”
        Charles nodded slowly.
        “So you know I’ve always liked mountaineering, and rock-climbing in particular?”
        “Yes…”
        “Okay, so, I’ve always liked it, partially because I am naturally talented in that regard. Now, when I woke up this morning, it’s like that natural talent was exponentially increased. I’m able to do things I didn’t even think were possible, like this.”
        “Um… good for you. Now, I don’t want to seem rude, but I don’t care to hang around and chat in the middle of a war zone. I don’t know what is happening, but it doesn’t seem good. I’m not sticking around here.” Charles walked off.
        “Bye!”
        “Yeah.”

leftlinkrightlink

_

This entry was posted in Pages.

Leave a Reply

